Need reliable radio on our farm

Guest Kevin

I have zero radio background. We have a wooded and rolling hills cattle farm. Low valley area and ridge tops. FRS radio is just not reliable and looking for a dependable and effective radio solution to ensure good communications from anywhere on the property. The house is in the middle of the 700 acres. Distance is about 1.5 miles from one side to the other in all directions as the property mostly square. Stumbled on GMRS. Can someone help me determine if a simple small scale solution with a repeater at the house and handheld radios will work please? Was excited to see GRMS exists and the license is very reasonably priced. I think I saw $70 for 5 years for the entire family. If GMRS is not really an option, I plan on attempting the HAM solution that I know nothing about either.

Thanks in advance for any assistance the GMRS community may be able to provide.

Kevin 

Ham radio would not work for you. First Ham radio is not permitted for commercial use, and second you would have to get everyone licensed to use the ham bands, and then on top of all of that, anyone can use your ham repeater since the ham frequencies are open to all licensed operators. GMRS could work, its now $65 for 10 years if I recall, and yes with GMRS you can run a repeater, however you may run into some of the same issues above.

What I would try first is MURS on the VHF side. VHF signals seem to travel across terrain much easier than UHF. We use VHF where I work and I can easily talk across the 2 mile stretch of beach and boardwalk with few black out areas.

If your ok with some interference, GMRS could work, otherwise you may need to look into a commercial radio license. GMRS would allow family to talk through a repeater, the commercial license would allow friends and family as well as any employees you may have for the farm. The commercial license is a bit more expensive though.