buying a good used GMRS repeater for neighborhood watch

Logan5

I am in charge of an HOA project to equip and operate a GMRS repeater in my neighborhood. I am in need of a 10 to 25 watt repeater that will suit our basic needs, but that also has scaleability and upgradeability. I am a Ham operator "General class" and also have a GMRS lic also. how can this be done cheaply? can two radios be linked? what are the options? I have "Google" searched "how to build a GMRS repeater" and not sure where to go next. Any help will be greatly appreatied, Thanks in advance.  Logan...

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

look on e-bay for gr300 repeater. there should be a few out thee since they are not narrowbandable. or get a pair of M120's gm300's or alike  and youcan make a 2 wire cable to make them a repeater w/o hang time.

as for scaleability and upgrading I really don't know what more you can do except for more power or better antenna.

talk to Rich about linking machines it can bedone w/o too much effort.

hope this point you in the right direction

John

There seems to be many Kenwood TKR-820 repeaters available now that narrowbanding of Part 90 equipment is mandatory.  The TKR-820 is a tried and true workhorse and a quick GOOGLE search showed several pages of these units for sale.   The synthisizer chip must be programmed using a Kenwood  KPT20 or KPT50 interface box - which are scarce, but are still around if you look for them.

A single antenna and properly tuned duplexer will probably get you what you need for the group's communications. Please refer to  Part 95.179b2  for Association requirements.