East TN GMRS

WRAP646

I'm new to the GMRS world and I can honestly say I'm excited about the possibilities that I see. I've been monitoring here in the East TN area for a few weeks and there doesn't seem to be a lot of chatter. I have to imagine that it is the nature of GMRS. I suspect there are times when things pick up and get active, but that just isn't right now. For those that have been active for a while in the area, was GMRS able to be of use during the wild fires in Gatlinburg?

I'm also curious as to what radios people are using. I hope to get a few of the Midland 40w mobiles in the future, but one of the things I would like the ability to do, is save repeater settings instead of having to manually change the channel each time we venture into a new area (have them preloaded). That coupled with wanting something new, I simply haven't been able to find anything that fits the bill. I'd also like similar functionality from a handheld, those seem a little bit easier to find however. Bottle line, I'd love to know what you guys use, and why. Also, what are your main uses for GMRS? I work on technology and have seen major outages take large tolls on commercial communications methods. I see GMRS as a means to connect to my friends and family during those times as well as during times of duress, should ever have any.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Hellooo, I've been using GMRS since about mid 2016. Absolutely love it. 

Radios I use for GMRS are as follow:

Motorola PM400 (mobile)
Motorola Maxtrac (base)

Icom F6021 (base)

Motorola XTS3000 (portable)

Motorola XPR3500e (portable)
Motorola HT1000 (portable)

Motorola CDR700 (repeater)

I've always been a fan of Motorola, just the strong build quality and how durable the radios are. I do have a couple Baofeng portables in my car and use them from time to time. 

I use GMRS to talk to mainly friends, occasionally family as well.