New to the GMRS world.

couger100101

Im new to the GMRS world as far as higher power radios and setups. i have 5 watters right now and always had 1.5 w walkies. looking to get 15 and 40 w radios as soon as possible. looking for maine operators around me. also looking for the do's and don'ts on these as well. i have a basic set up at the house and my truck with 5w radios. 

Higher power seldom improves a less than ideal situation. antenna Height, and quality feedline are far more important. Once communication is established it is common courtesy to reduce power output to a level sufficient to maintain communications. a 5 watt radio at 50' is generally more effective than a 50 watt radio at 5'.

OK. I see. I do know the higher the antenna the further you'll reach out. i do realize that more power is better to push through obstacles. im hoping to connect with operators in Maine and help boost range in northern and western maine. building a repeater tower in the future. I'm assuming the feed line is coaxial from radio to antenna?  

Yes you will likely prefer coax cost wise as hardline is expensive and unforgiving when mistakes are made. For long range contacts consider a Yagi directional antenna, you will need much less power than an omni. Each radio site is different, I used a push up mast in a tree for a couple of years.  I also done several roof mounts etc. The higher you get the better.

TV coax is not suitable for 2 way radio. a directional antenna can make long distance communications possible even with low power input. Yes, you will turn the antenna by hand or with a relativity inexpensive rotor. depending on the Yagi, you will still have local service on the rear and side lobes. but your forward lobe can be several times further than an Omni antenna even with low power.