New to GMRS.

harold95

Hi 

just wanted to introduce myself. 

i'm new to gmrs, and have already learned some things involving it. i have been looking over the forum here, lots of good stuff.

i have tried to reach out to see if any one is out there on the air, but like most of the ham repeaters, no one is about, and most 

of the repeaters are no longer up and running.

i am also a ham operator, and enjoy the occasional rtty contest.

i have a tk-860 on order, and i should have most everything i need for mobile gmrs by the end of next week.

anyways....

• 2 weeks later...

First:  Welcome to the hobby, welcome to the forum, and welcome to the community!  :D

Second:  The Midland MicroMobile have some issues you should be aware of.  

https://forums.mygmrs.com/topic/1352-midland-mxt400/?p=10934

In short, they're narrower than narrowband, and are operating on a wideband radio service.  Those running 25 kHz deviation will hear you very quietly, and those deviating near their limits on wideband transmitters will clip on yours.

New to all these.I just received my GMRS licensed and got me a pair of midland GXT1000 . purpose for this device is for , in case of emergency, bug-out situation .The license covers family members . So my wife and I can use these radios ? do I need to register these radios to FCC?

Welcome to the Forum. There is no registration of equipment, however, as a licensed operator, you are responsible for the proper operation of the equipment that you own or that is used under your license.

Family members as listed in Part 95.1705 c 2:  "Any individual who holds an individual license may allow his or her immediate family members to operate his or her GMRS station or stations. Immediate family members are the licensee's spouse, children, grandchildren, stepchildren, parents, grandparents, stepparents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, and in-laws."

• 2 weeks later...