Programming a TK880

WREM441

Question

Hello Everyone, I'm James, WREM441, and I'm new to GMRS. I stopped by the NGGMRS booth at a local hamfest and after talking to the very kind folks I decided to "take the plunge". I'm also a ham, KF4AQO. I've ordered a programming cable. I haven't ordered the Kenwood KPG-49D programming software hoping that CHIRP will work. 

There is my short history regarding GMRS. Here's the question, which programming software do I need to program my TK-880 radios?

Thanks.

Oh, I've almost completed my base station antenna. I'll be on the air once that's completed.

Depending on the firmware, the KPG-49D should be what you need. There is a firmware that requires passport software. This can be determined by watching the screen as you turn on the radio. If you have firmware 1.5xxx chances are you have passport firmware. This is easily fixed by reflashing the newest firmware through Fpro which is included with the 49D software. As far as I am aware (And I may be wrong on this) the 880's are incompatible with CHiRP.

I think I got my 49D from hamfiles for free. If you have an account there you should be able to download the file there. If you need the firmware feel free to message me and I'll send it over.

Congrats on getting the best radio out there for GMRS!

Chirp won't work. It would be great if it were added at some point, but KPG49D is readily available free, and works well. Look for version 4.xx for Windows. I have a Windows 10 machine and it works fine except for the help files, which you don't necessarily need anyway. I originally started with Version 6.xx, thinking the later version would be better. But nope, it was DOS only.

Once you have the software, it will also work (with a different cable) on the TK-380 uhf HT.