New here! Just ordered two radios that will be here Saturday. Share your basic, beginner tips with me.

WRFH675

I ordered BTECH GMRS-V1 from Amazon. I also received my license yesterday.

I do a lot of hiking and camping. But I'm also interested and learning much more about GMRS and radios in general. I know these can be programmed and use other antenna, but I held off on ordering those and the cable until I understand more of the basics.

Any tips, suggestions, ideas for a total newb will be greatly appreciated! Radios and/or transmission etiquette, or anything else. Thanks!

• 2 weeks later...

WRFH675 and all:

I too am new to GMRS, and have similar questions, particularly around repeaters, and how to ensure I'm locating and using them properly.

I will primarily use my GMRS radio (MXT 400) in my Yamaha Side-by-side UTV, so understanding how to be able to contact someone in event of an emergency or breakdown remotely is key for me.

If there are any articles, information links, etc that anyone can share, it would be greatly appreciated.

WRFE801

Same here.  '19 Wolverine X4 with Kenwood TK880.   And a Kenwood HT and Wousun HT.

I'll be relegated to simplex when camping unless I'm near my local area where there are available repeaters.  There are no repeaters near where I camp for extended periods.   Without a repeater and someone monitoring that frequency the odds of reaching a random rescuer is slim.  But simplex with fellow riders should work pretty well (I've yet to put mine to the test).

Go to Map on this website to find repeaters that might be in your range.

Lots of folks here with more expertise and experience than I.