Mobile Antenna

tweiss3

Question

I'm a bit new to radio. I drive a lot, traveling with my company car. I've been using a CB with a magnetic LilWilly whip antenna. I also have to have access to the weather (outside of my phone) and always thought radio was cool, so I have a BF-F8HP that I have been using for analog scanning, which is a benefit because I get the county skywarn channels for weather alerts as well.

Anyways, I decided to grab a GMRS-V1 to be legal since I filed for my GMRS license. I have noticed, half the time if there is GMRS chatter, it is only picked up on the F8HP and not the GMSR-V1. Since I'm in a company vehicle, drilling is not an option. Should I go with a magnetic mounted antenna or just get a better 8" whip that is 1/4 wave. If i went magnetic, i'd get a triband that would have me ready for either a true 50W mobile rig or digital mobile scanner (P25 capable). If it helps, I currently clip the radio to my sun visor while scanning.

If magnetic, will there be a grounding plane required (similar to CB)? How large? Will it interfere with the CB?

If upgraded whip, any affordable optiosn other than Nagoya NA701C? 

I'm currently studying for my amateur technician test, but I still have so much theory I don't understand yet as far as antennas.

Thanks,

Magnetic antenna on the roof will always be better than HT antenna inside the car. Ground plane required for most mobile verticals (there are exceptions, like 1/2 wave antennas), however, the roof of your car/truck is a ground plane. Magnetic mount couples with it capacitevly. I assume, the roof is steel, cause you're talking about magnetic mount. Good ground plane is anything more than 1/4 wave in all directions, and if it is bigger than 1 wavelength, it is close to ideal.