Making contact with a repeater/owner

tweiss3

I have been scanning on my way to work for a few months now. I've found a repeater by the morse code identification. Now, as far as I can tell, its got a tone on it, because I can't seem to hit it. I've also attempted to hail the owner on the corresponding non-repeater frequency with no response.

My method to try and hail the owner: "This is WRFV692 attempting to hail the owner of the repeater on frequency XXX.XXX, commonly know as repeater channel XX."

Is this the correct method to hail them?

Secondly, other than using the RTL-SDRV3 that just came in the mail to record the morse code identification, any other way to figure out who it is/where it is? based on my commute, and assumption it's about 10-15 mile radius of reach, I have an idea, but have no idea how to reach the owner.

Is it rude to identify the morse code, look up the call sign and send a snail mail letter to the owner based on the registered address? 

[1] Is this the correct method to hail them?

[2] Secondly, other than using the RTL-SDRV3 that just came in the mail to record the morse code identification, any other way to figure out who it is/where it is? based on my commute, and assumption it's about 10-15 mile radius of reach, I have an idea, but have no idea how to reach the owner.

[3] Is it rude to identify the morse code, look up the call sign and send a snail mail letter to the owner based on the registered address? 

Well...