New to GMRS - How to Get Access to Use a Repeater

gmarman

I am new to GMRS living in San Diego CA and find that the range of my radios is quite limited without a repeater.

So I requested access via the myGMRS site to two repeaters but never heard back.  Not sure what the proper protocol is to request access - perhaps I violated to protocol?

There is one repeater listed in the SD area that does not require permission but when you click on the range for that repeater it shows an area 500 miles away in Northern Calif so not sure if that is usable.

In any event, I did a quick test by setting my radios channel and CCTS to the frequency code to one of the private repeaters in my area just to do a 30 second test - did not hear anyone on the channel.  I tried to transmit and receive between my radios with a friend less than 1 mile away and it did not work once he got 1/4 mile away - not sure if this is because I set my radios wrong or the repeater is not operating or the owner of the repeater needs to do something to authenticate my signal before it receives and transmits.

In any event, hoping someone can advise me on what I am doing wrong and what I am doing right.  And if anyone is in the SD area and can help me get access to repeater I can use (only on weekends for bike rides with the family around the area) I would appreciate it!

My radios or Midland GXT1000 and work well enough when in line of site with one another.

Thanks!

Gary Margolin

WRFX831

Welcome!

And on this cheerful note, the downer: GTX1000 does not seem to be repeater-capable. I do not own one, can't confirm myself, just looked at the reviews on Midland website. People mention it can't talk to repeaters.