I have a dream of setting up a repeater on the top of my mountain which has not power

MacJack

I'm a newbie to GMRS and made a great connection with my local repeater guy and sent him a donation to keep it up.  His repeater is not that busy but I want to add my own on my hill (mountain).  No electric available, good solar view and need to hear how you guys did or would set up your repeater in waterproof Tupperware box... solar, battery, duplexing two radios (40 watts) with cables plus one antenna...  

Looking for low maintenance as I will not be going up the mountain that often...  hard hike carrying equipment up the mountain.  I should add the only one repeater in area and not a high traffic area and want to respect my new buddy repeater traffic and his history (friends etc).  

So I looked at RT97 https://shop.mygmrs.com/collections/featured-products/products/retevis-rt97-gmrs-repeater-5w  and found out it is not as advertised being 10 watts.  In fact I wanted 30-40 watts unit as using HT 4 watts.  

Thanks in advance for your help and if Admin needs to move this to another forum, great... 

Jack

WRJX754

Hopefully you've already read the thread on: "I just got my GMRS License and now I want my own repeater".

Solar and high power repeaters don't play so well together if your budget is less than NASA. If you've got a high elevation site, you can talk to everywhere you can "see" at relatively low power. Higher power margins just help to overcome background noise and decrease fading. I'd tell you that 10 watts going into an actual 6 dB antenna is an ERP of 40 watts - and probably overkill if you're using 4 watt portables to talk back. If you really want to make a repeater work better - a better receiver is worth much more than transmit power.