Crickets. Aaaaaggghhh!

STTScott

Newbie here. I've been scanning FRS (462.526-462.712) and GMRS 462.550-462.712. Total crickets. I uneerstand that because I am on a US territory island. But still, it would be nice to contact somebody. I am working with a good 8' U/V antenna, and hearing nothing other than crickets or major static. Does anybody have any ideas one way or another?

You have brought up this issue before, and I and others have responded. GMRS is not a general two way public radio service like CB or ham. If you want to meet locals on the radio I strongly suggest you look into those two services. You are far more likely to make the connections you seem to be looking for.

While the definitions of radio services are not always all encompassing  (I.e. some leeway may apply) here are the service definitions from the FCC.

GMRS

General Mobile Radio Service (GMRS). A mobile two-way voice communication service, with limited data applications, for facilitating activities of individual licensees and their family members, including, but not limited to, voluntary provision of assistance to the public during emergencies and natural disasters.

FRS

Family Radio Service (FRS). A short-distance two-way voice communication service, with limited data applications, between low power hand-held radios, for facilitating individual, family, group, recreational and business activities.

CB

CB Radio Service (CBRS). A mobile and fixed two-way voice communication service for facilitating personal, business or voluntary public service activities, including communications to provide assistance to highway travelers.

Ham Radio

The rules and regulations in this part are designed to provide an amateur radio service having a fundamental purpose as expressed in the following principles:

a) Recognition and enhancement of the value of the amateur service to the public as a voluntary noncommercial communication service, particularly with respect to providing emergency communications.