Reluctance to use CTCSS/DCS

kirk5056

I have only been in the GMRS comunity for a year. I have noticed in this, and other forums, that people show a reluctance to use CTCSS/DCS (PL codes). Or the apparent belief that they are only for repeater use.

With GMRS radios we can transmit on 30 frequencies and listen on 22 frequencies. Using PL codes we increase those to 3-4,000 CHANNELS (freq + PL). Can some one enlighten me on the reluctance?

I have only been in the GMRS comunity for a year. I have noticed in this, and other forums, that people show a reluctance to use CTCSS/DCS (PL codes). Or the apparent belief that they are only for repeater use.

With GMRS radios we can transmit on 30 frequencies and listen on 22 frequencies. Using PL codes we increase those to 3-4,000 CHANNELS (freq + PL). Can some one enlighten me on the reluctance?

Hello Kirk, and welcome to the forum!

I have been using FRS and GMRS off and on for nearly 20 years. This is the first time I have heard the suggestion of there being a ‘reluctance’ to use PL codes. You have me curious. What is the nature of the comments you’re hearing that give you this impression?

My personal perspective follows.

While I do use repeaters, my primary reason for having GMRS is simplex. There are times I operate both with and without PL codes. More often without them.

I use codes only when I am in an area where there is heavy use of the frequencies and I want to leave my radios on for extended periods but only want to hear traffic from my group. After all that is the reason PL codes came into existence in the first place. They provided a way for different businesses and other groups to share a frequency without having to listen to with each other’s conversations.

My personal experience has also shown that without codes, when in an area of low RF noise that the receiver will open squelch at a slightly greater distance without the code than with.