Call signs

Blackmar401

Does anyone actually use them. I have been using gmrs for a few months now and the only callsigns I have heard used are on one of the repeaters I pick up. It's a group of guys who are truck drivers/dispatch but also hams. Other than that every other repeater and 15-22 I am yet to hear one. I was using mine but honestly now I just use it to clear the chanel at the end

As a GMRS licensee they (and you) are required to use them. I live near Cincinnati. Around me, both repeater and simplex users alike seem to use them pretty religiously. There is even a local GMRS father that is teaching his 7 year old son to use GRMRs per the rules. Pretty cool seeing a father take his role seriously.

Remember that GMRS shares 22 of 30 frequencies with FRS, and FRS users do not need to have a license and callsign, so one cannot always assume that those not giving there callsign are actual GMRS licensees. They could be simplex FRS users. Now, if you are hearing them truly from the repeater (not just simplex users using the main GMRS frequencies and code that you are), then yes they must have a license and must be using there callsign.

Best way to get people to use their callsign is to lead by example.

Michael

WRHS965

KE8PLM

Nobody uses them here in VA, even on repeaters. I do, but I feel like I'm scaring people away from wanting to reply when I do.

That may be a very good thing.

Let’s us all be good stewards of the GMRS service by our example so it does not run away from us and turn into trash like CB did in so many places.

Michael

WRHS965

KE8PLM