New to GMRS got a Midland MXT275

RIPPER238

Hi all!

First post, and though i would consider my self new to GMRS i did get a GMRS license back in 2000 for a 5w radio from Radio Shack i used for a few years. Back when i first used my Radio Shack radio i was unaware there were repeaters or how they worked. Its a shame there are no repeaters near me here in CT so i can get the gist of how to connect to them and how they work. I may have to get a repeater of my own just to figure it out. lol

I primarily got my MXT275 for off road use to communicate with friends and it seems to work well, i get about a mile range with hills and lots of houses around. I upgraded the antenna to a MXTA26 6db with the mag mount that i run on the roof of my 4Runner which seemed to help a lot with the hills. 

Anyway. Good to be here and i look forward to learning. 

Welcome to the forum...  as an older newbie, I got my first repeater (VRX-7000) the other week.  Learning a lot and meeting new and helpful folks.  You are in the right place... read as much as you can, ask questions.  In my case I would PM a poster to go deeper without boring others with my simple questions.  I have a few "go to coaches and mentors".

Jack

P.S.  Does anyone know where I can get a dealer manual for the VRX-7000.  I have the consumer manual but does not go as deep as the software does running the exe in -D mode.  Thanks.

Thanks for the Welcome guys!

Ill have to check out the VRX-7000. Looks like an easy repeater that is simple with out having to build my own. 

Quick question. Thinking of getting a 5 watt handheld for my spotter or other who may need to communicate with me. Seems the Wouxun KG-805G is one of the few true 5 watt units i can get easily new. Anything better or on par i should look at? Also thinking Wouxun KG-UV9G PRO