Active groups in Connecticut?

I recently got my license and a Radioddity GM-30. My primary use will be car club events, but was looking to see if there are any active GMRS groups in Connecticut.

Years ago, I was active on the CB with a lot a lot of locals who would chat on a quieter channel. Before I decide to purchase a mobile unit, wanted to see if it would be worth it.

Jeff

WRMV722

Sent from my LGL455DL using Tapatalk

• 1 year later...

My daughter lives in Preston, Connecticut.  I am visiting her every month (up from VA).  There is not much going on in the area, unfortunately.  I have been thinking about putting up a repeater in/near the Norwich area or possibly closer to the CT/RI line... but I have been slammed and haven't found much time for testing.

I’m brand new to the GMRS world. Just picked up a Wouxun KG-935G Plus (also have a Yaesu VX-6 for HAM)…I live in Stratford and work in Norwalk. So far I’ve just been doing some listening. Seems like I’m reaching a repeater in Long Island and I THINK another one in Bridgeport. Unfortunately, the only few times I tried talking, it doesn’t seem like anyone can hear me. Still have to learn repeater access, but I’m looking forward to learning. If there is anyone/any groups in the area, let me know.

GMRS: WRWF477

HAM: KC1SLV

52 minutes ago, WRWF477 said:

I’m brand new to the GMRS world. Just picked up a Wouxun KG-935G Plus (also have a Yaesu VX-6 for HAM)…I live in Stratford and work in Norwalk. So far I’ve just been doing some listening. Seems like I’m reaching a repeater in Long Island and I THINK another one in Bridgeport. Unfortunately, the only few times I tried talking, it doesn’t seem like anyone can hear me. Still have to learn repeater access, but I’m looking forward to learning. If there is anyone/any groups in the area, let me know.

GMRS: WRWF477

HAM: KC1SLV

I’m envious of the VX6!

Please forgive me if I’m assuming took little knowledge or experience on your part.