Another New Guy

WRQI663

Hello, I am not new to radio but new to GMRS -- I found myself with a couple of 'bubble pack' radios for 20 bucks each

along with a 'base camp' radio. But when I read that I would need a license to operate the radio at full power on the

GMRS frequencies, I decided to get a license.

I have been an amateur radio op since 1967

I also have a General Radio Operator License issued in 1994

I am currently studying for the radar endorsement (I am a retired telephone service tech) for a personal achievement

challenge. I also want to get the 2nd Class Radiotelegraph License (it is nearly impossible to get a 1st class now)

I can copy code at very hight speeds.

I wanted the FRS/GMRS radio equipment for CERT use  and family use too,  I also have a 40 channel CB unit

though it is not attached to an antenna at this time. I found this site by a link from another site and

found the topics here interesting enough to register.

I look forward to posting on topics that I can be of help in

Lew