KG-935G

WROZ873

I’m new to GMRS and have my license and recently got the KG-935G. I got permission from the repeater owner and have entered the correct tones. I get a receive status signal but without sound. The repeater uses RPT-21 frequency and is about 80miles away. There are other several repeaters in the area to me that are much closer and some one that is linked. Steps I took were,

1) dialed to RPT-21

2) add channel

3) entered tones 

4) named channel

11 minutes ago, gortex2 said:

Your never going to talk to a repeater 80 miles away on an HT.... 

And even if you can hear the repeater, at 80 miles you are simply not going to access it with a 5W HT and a duck.  Doubtful you could even bring it up with a directional gain antenna (not necessarily impossible, but...)

Also, as OffroaderX noted, some repeaters use 'reverse burst' which causes your radio to quickly mute and, not all repeaters use a hang time/tail (dead air after a user unkeys), so again, even of you were in range, you might not hear anything when you unkey.

There are always exceptions when it comes to range.  I can go up on the mountain down the road and probably hit a ton or repeaters with a 5W HT (and the duck antenna) some nearly 100 miles away. 

That said, just because there are exceptions that doesn't make it the norm.  Typical 5W HT range with the duck antenna is at most, 8-10 miles.  Again, there are terrain issues and other factors that can make or break a path between a base/repeater and an HT.

Just saying...

3 hours ago, OffRoaderX said:

It may be that the repeater uses "reverse burst" so you may not hear the kick-back..but to be sure, try removing your RX tone (which is optional anyway).  

If you still aren't hearing anyone talking then you might be out of range. 80 miles is a stretch.

Thank you, I knew 80 miles may be a stretch. I’ll try removing the Rx. I also have a Nagoya 771g antenna currently.