Tropospheric ducting?

Bugkiller

Got a new HT, charged it up, and started playing with it.  Normally, I hear crickets, or kids playing with bubble wraps.  Not tonight.  Long conversations on 462.650, obviously on a repeater.  All well and good, except…

There are no repeaters on that frequency near me.  

Signal was fading in and out.  Finally got the repeater id and tracked it down.  It belongs to a repeater 130 miles (as the crow flys) away.  On a tower about 330 ft.  I’m in Florida, so its is relatively flat.  

I’m new to the radio game, but I’m thinking I was picking up tropospheric ducting this evening.  What say you experts?

Wrong time of the year for traditional ducting... but we have a geomagnetic storm that is starting.  It's going to peak in about 2 days and expected to last for a few days.  Last time I was in Florida and this happened, I was able to talk from St. Pete to Panama City Beach for several hours a day several days in a row.

During geomagnetic storms, more often than not, UHF radio waves get absorbed, causing reduced range.  Other times UHF can get reflected like HF NVIS propagation.  The easiest way to tell if that is happening now is if you have a GPS system that relies solely on SatComms (not cellular) and you are having accuracy issues or an outage.

There are some websites that map this stuff out, too.  Been a long time since I looked for them, though.

EDIT:  This tropo map is indicating that you may be right... how about that!

https://www.dxinfocentre.com/tropo.html

image.png.bfcc507c8f77f7c2a34832d5eb087cd9.png

11 hours ago, marcspaz said:

Wrong time of the year for traditional ducting... but we have a geomagnetic storm that is starting.  It's going to peak in about 2 days and expected to last for a few days.  Last time I was in Florida and this happened, I was able to talk from St. Pete to Panama City Beach for several hours a day several days in a row.