Problem with UV-9G Transmit

WRTB324

First, I'm brand new to GMRS and this is my first radio (received yesterday). Any issues are most likely me! My UV-9G will not make any sound when hitting the transmit key and the screen light stays dark. I have tried various frequencies, yes the volume is up, the radio is on and I tried a reset. I just watched a Notarubicon video on CHIRP and check to see if the PTT button was locked out and it is not. Any other ideas are appreciated. 

Does it receive? If you scan, will it stop and receive signals from other transmitters?

I'm not sure how helpful this is, but I'm also new, and received my UV-9G about a month ago. It worked perfectly right out of the box. I've since made some changes and adjustments which have helped it perform better, but if yours does not work right out of the box, it very well might be a faulty radio and should be returned/exchanged.

On 6/2/2022 at 5:16 PM, WRTB324 said:

First, I'm brand new to GMRS and this is my first radio (received yesterday). Any issues are most likely me! My UV-9G will not make any sound when hitting the transmit key and the screen light stays dark. I have tried various frequencies, yes the volume is up, the radio is on and I tried a reset. I just watched a Notarubicon video on CHIRP and check to see if the PTT button was locked out and it is not. Any other ideas are appreciated. 

My first UV-9G worked great.  The second one had to be returned due to some glitches, it would not pick FM Radio and it seemed to have a short circuit or something.  The third one (to replace the second) also does not pick up FM Radio, but other features work fine.

When you turn off the radio, then turn it back on while holding down the 6 key, do you see "200306M"?  That's the version that I have, I don't know if it means anything significant though, but I'm curious.