Amateur Operaters

• Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

#1 spd641

spd641

Senior Moderator

• Moderators
  • 231 posts
  • LocationAlabama. Licensed GMRS operator and a Licensed amateur operator.

Posted 29 April 2013 - 05:55 PM

I wanted to pass along how I became involved in amateur radio and get other members thoughts on what compelled everyone to get involved.

I was a police officer,police chief and EMT before becoming disabled.I dedicated my life to public safety and helping others so when I became disabled it made me feel useless.When the April 27 tornado outbreak happened I was sitting here wanting to help but couldn't so I begin thinking how can I help the people around me and after quite a bit of thought amateur radio came to mind.

I then decided as soon as I find a testing facility I would give it a shot so I did.Nervous as anyone would be,I took my Technician test and passed with flying colors.

I then joined out local hometown club and became a active member and with pressure from several other amateurs I took and passed my General which I was more nervous in doing than the Tech test but accomplished it on my first try also.I saved and saved to buy what equipment  I have now which includes a Kenwood TM-271a 2 meter,Kenwood TS-570d and a few Wouxun portables and a Wouxun mobile.

Even though I still consider myself a newbie in the amateur world I was promoted to Net Manager with my club and really enjoy amateur radio much more than I could have ever imagined.I had thought about it  and approached by other amateurs over the years about getting involved but placed it on the back burner.

I also decided to become a volunteer examiner to help others obtain their license and enjoy amateur radio in the same manner as the amateur operators in my area helped me .