Southern Virginia / Northern North Carolina

SH728

I have recently (within the last 24 hours) gotten my BTECH GMRS-PRO setup... I think.

I am VERY new to this and honestly don't know much about what I am doing. Yes, I have a license. I haven't changed any frequencies that came programmed, rather only changed the names for my OCD sake. In regards to use, myself and a group of buddies plan to use the GMRS system when on "operations" and training exercises utilizing < 5 mile range. What is my best options when it comes to frequencies, high/low, settings, etc. I am not familiar with what high and low bands are, what the correct MHz need to be. Any help would be appreciated.

Anyone close to I-85 near the VA/NC border? Would love to chat and try and test my new GMRS device!

Not alot to be honest. If you look at the maps there is one near Kerr Lake however from 85 I can't get into it. I am west of that area and my travels across 58 are normally pretty quiet. If your looking to use the radio to chat with folks you may of picked the wrong service. 

https://mygmrs.com/repeater/6282

5 hours ago, SH728 said:

I am VERY new to this and honestly don't know much about what I am doing. Yes, I have a license. I haven't changed any frequencies that came programmed, rather only changed the names for my OCD sake. In regards to use, myself and a group of buddies plan to use the GMRS system when on "operations" and training exercises utilizing < 5 mile range. What is my best options when it comes to frequencies, high/low, settings, etc. I am not familiar with what high and low bands are, what the correct MHz need to be. Any help would be appreciated.