Roger Beep

Wrvq441

As I have posted the other week, I am fairly new to GMRS, although I have been around two way communication for many years.

I have recently received permission to use a repeater in my area  and am very appreciative of this.  The other day, after listening several day to the local traffic to learn proper etiquette, I attempted to communicate through the repeater by identifying myself with call sign and location. 

Some guy instantly acknowledged me and demanded that I turn off my roger beep because it raises havoc with the equipment.  From my previous listening, I know that this individual is not the owner of the repeater.

Now, if the owner himself doesn’t like roger beeps, its his equipment, and he is gracious enough to allow me to use it. For this I’m am very thankful and will oblige any demands or requests that he has. If I don’t like his demands and requests, I don’t have to use his service.

My question to the forum is; a roger beep is a roger beep. As far  as I can tell, it’s just an additional part of your transmission.  I really need someone to explain in terms that my little rat like brain can comprehend how a roger beep is going to take out someone’s equipment.  

The way I look at this whole thing….. Instead of idiots that like to deadkey and jam repeaters, it they are that malicious, why don’t they just send out a series of roger beeps and nuke the entire system. Apparently roger beeps can be as destructive as an actual EMP.

Thanks ahead of time for your feedback.  I look much forward to learning more about the destructive powers of the roger beep.

22 minutes ago, Wrvq441 said:

My question to the forum is; a roger beep is a roger beep. As far  as I can tell, it’s just an additional part of your transmission.  I really need someone to explain in terms that my little rat like brain can comprehend how a roger beep is going to take out someone’s equipment.