A strange thing happened on my way to a new repeater......

WRWB464

Ok so noob here but this sure seemed strange. I have been looking for local repeaters to add into my new radio. Still new using myGMRS so it was only a bit surprised when a repeater showed up only a couple miles from my home location, when I had not seen it there before. So I added it to my radio and sent a request to the owner.

That was yesterday. This morning I get an email saying my request was denied, and the details were a somewhat cryptic and a bit rude response back from the owner.

Now, a few hours later, both that repeater and any record of my request, other than the email I received, are all gone from myGMRS.

So what's up? Is there GMRS black ops going on? LOL. Just wondering how/what this may have been about. Thanks.

I'll hazard a guess that someone meant to add it to the map for coordination purposes, but inadvertently listed it as open, when they meant to post it as private. The request cued them that it was visible, and rather than correcting the listing they chose to delete it from the map altogether.

Yeah.... This is a tough one and don't take it personally. I have a repeater and have not yet decided if I want to post it as available or not... In an ideal setting, I would like to give access to everyone with GMRS users having priority over "ham" type users. Ham types have plenty of other places to go, and from the perspective of providing public access, I want to do this. Yet, I worry that users that have come from the ham side have learned some operating habits that are not the best at times. I honestly don't know how I am going to address this issue if I take it public. I get 40 miles of coverage so the system is working really nice too. On the fence on this one myself so I suspect the owner you are describing thought about these issues also. Too bad the interpersonal skills were not up to par though. J

1 hour ago, WQWX838 said: