Books or magazines that cover GMRS?

AA3RT

Greetings, I am a relative newcomer to the GMRS world although I've been a licensed amateur for over 25 years. I picked up a new scanner with a number of preprogrammed banks, one of them having FRS/GMRS/MURS all lumped into one bank. I started listening and became intrigued prompting me to apply for a GMRS license.

I've been looking on line for available reference material however there doesn't seem to be much out there, unless I'm looking in the wrong place. I've seen a book titled "FRS/GMRS Radio" by Max Cooper, published in 2016 that appears to be a buyer's guide and "Two Way Radios & Scanners for Dummies" by H. Ward Silver that reportedly has some GMRS content but that book is now at least 12 years old.

Does the on line publication "Spectrum Monitor" cover GMRS?

Any recommendations?

We have found over the years that GMRS has been essentially ignored by publishers - probably due to the limited audience for such publications and the limited income that they would generate.

If any members can assist with specific titles and availability of GMRS specific publications, please add to this thread.

Thank you.

MyGMRS Staff.

I'm not sure specifically of what reference material you're looking for, and, this may not be much, but, hamcrazy sells custom reference materials such as wallet cards. I like to keep bands and frequencies (with common channel numbers if GMRS or FRS) and other references such as phonetic alphabet, and codes printed on a small wallet card or larger if kept at a station. As PastorGary stated, even though GMRS and FRS is still technically popular among some, especially those that use the bubble pack radios for close range communication, there's usually limited audience to desire reference material. Sometimes I think the best is to find references online and compose your own materials from it.