repeater tones MXT400

WRFF247

Please bear with me here, totally new. I've got an MXT400 installed in my Jeep for mostly trail coms. It's repeater capable and there are a few within range of my home, I'd like to get those set up. I know about "turning on" the repeater channels on the radio but am confused about the tones. 

When a repeater requires a "tone" to activate, is that the CTCSS or the DCS? I don't know the difference between those 2 things. I know that for every channel the radio is programmed for you can set a CTCSS or a DCS code or number. Could someone help to clear that up for me? 

I am a newbie also!

For all repeaters listing 'tone' frequencies, those have to be CTCSS as DCS is a digital code, not frequency based. For example, there is a repeater near me that lists a tone of 141.3 MHz, which is CTCSS 'tone' 22.

I am not sure if the 'tone' is required to use the repeater as my understanding is that 'tones' only filter who you can hear on any given channel, while using no 'tone' allows you to hear all activity on any given channel.

I think if a repeater requires a tone, if you don't have that tone assigned to the repeater channel, the repeater won't open or activate to re-broadcast your TX. It will recieve all transmissions on that channel, it just will ignore those not having the correct tone added to the TX. From what I've been able to read, they do this so the repeater doesn't just re-broadcast everything it hears on a channel, only those TX's that are trying to use the repeater. 

If a repeater is "open" then you don't need to add the tone. If it lists a tone, then you will need to choose accordingly. So in your example, If you have a repeater on say channel 16 and it says it requires a tone of 141.3, you would have to program your radio to add tone #22 to that repeater channel.