462.625 channel 18 question (can't communicate with two radios)

tonto

Question

Ok so this isn't necessarily just 462.625, but here's my question.

I have a UV-5R, and a BF-888s I got at a garage sale in a box of random crap. 

I have a charger (already have another BF-888s) and trying to see what's programmed (via my scanner) it had a few different freqs in, one of which was on GMRS.  I have a GMRS license, so I am manually trying to program my uv5r to further test on this known GMRS freq (channel 18, 462.625) (since I don't yet have a HAM license).  I lost my programming cable, so I can't just hook it up and see what's on it.  Yes, I know I'm not technically supposed to be using these radios with this freq, but I went out in the country to my brother's land so as not to bother anyone who might be using it.

So anyway, since I'm not a radio technician, I used my scanner to figure out the CTCSS code was 127.3 as well.

I (think) I manually programmed one of my channels to be able to communicate.  I can hear the 888s (on both my other radio and my scanner), but not vice versa.  So either I manually programmed mine incorrectly, or I'm missing something that may be programmed on the other radio.  Could there be something else I haven't quite got right?  I don't think it's programmed to use a repeater since I'm hearing it on 462.625 when I key the mic (and there's no repeater in the area).   I have used my radio to communicate with others  so I know my mic works, etc

disclaimer: these radios are mostly for if SHTF, or when we go camping out in the boonies.  I won't use any HAM freqs until I get my license.  Yes I know I shouldn't be using these radios on GMRS freqs, so you don't need to lecture me on that :)

6 answers to this question