Clueless

Guest Tim

I recently bought a pair of Baofeng 888s for my grandson.. Until coming here today I had no idea that they were illegal for him to use.. I'm a licensed ham operator who has been out of the loop since the early 1990's.. Is there anyway to make these radios legal by programming?? I'm trying to get back into ham radio and also get my grandson interested in radio operation.. That is why I bought these ht's for him to begin with and they were really cheap for what they are capable of doing.. I have a TYT TH-7800 dual band vhf/uhf radio I just bought to get back on the air.. It is capable of transmission on public radio frequencies so I might be interested in getting the proper license.. Any info would be appreciated.. I did not see anywhere to enter my e-mail address so I assume I just have to check back often for any replies..

Once you obtain a GMRS license, you would be able to register at the main MyGMRS website and then over here at the Forum. The main site is sync'ed to the FCC database and once the license data is posted by the Commission, the MyGMRS softyware will see it and will allow your membership registration to be processed so you can join in with our members for postings. 'Guest' posts are limited in scope.

I recently bought a pair of Baofeng 888s for my grandson.. Until coming here today I had no idea that they were illegal for him to use....

Actually, depending on how you program them, they may be almost legal on FRS. You'd have to set the FRS frequencies in simplex mode and at low power. The main variance from the FRS rules would be the removable antenna. On the other hand, if you get a GMRS license, your grandson would also be covered by your license. However, since the 888 is not FCC accepted for GMRS, you would still technically be in violation of the rules.