Getting Started with GMRS

pantherpaw9

Question

Hi, I'm new to all this, and as you can imagine, I have lot's of questions. The first of which is this: How much power do I need to use GMRS over a repeater that is about 16 miles west of my house. I can't seem to hear any signals coming from the repeater, and I don't think my 4 watt handheld would be enough to reach out that far. Am I dreaming thinking I can use my TERA TR-505 handheld radio to communicate with anyone that is in range of the the repeater coverage area? I'm not sure what equipment I will need to get on the NET meeting and participate. I can hear traffic when I tune a different radio to the frequency. I was wondering why I can hear traffic on the one radio but not on the TERA GMRS radio that I just bought. Any tips for a beginner would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

I sent you a PM with the information.   Hope it helps.

Just made contact on the Sassafras Mountain repeater to a gentleman in Ellijay, GA so I would like to thank all of you for your assistance and patience with me in solving my startup issues.  I can't say enough positive things about this group and the organization.  I look forward to tuning in to the next NET meeting.

Hi Pantherpaw9, Welcome to the forums.  Your Tera should be able to reach the repeater as long the repeater antenna is high enough.  I can reach the local repeater where I am at from more than 20 miles away.   Mygmrs site list the area of coverage at 100 miles.   Not sure how far one can reach it with an hand held but I know some people are farther away from the repeater that me.  You probably don't have the pl tones set up correctly.   There are a lot of people here that know a lot more than I and they are very helpful and should be able to tell you what you need to know.   Let us know the area you are from and someone should be able to help.  Welcome to the wonderful world of GMRS