tuning handheld antenna..

cbrown038

Question

I have a couple Btech V1's and am trying to tune the Nagoya 771.  As i trim the length, the SWR is dropping little at a time, (1.05) but when I move a substantial distance (4 miles ish) the swr changes (2.5). 

Im new to gmrs and radio's in general, but how can I get an accurate swr when it is changing seemingly constantly?  I must be doing something wrong. I do not want to trim it to short and have to buy another one..

any help or suggestions would be appreciated

WRKI386

Im using the SW-33 swr

12 answers to this question

You cannot measure SWR of HT antenna by simply attaching the meter between HT and antenna. The body of HT coupled with your body is a part of antenna. You need measuring apparatus inside the HT to have a meaningful measurements. Attempts to use regular SWR meter to measure SWR of HT antenna are futile. SWR numbers measured this way are meaningless and junk science (junk engineering).

And on top of that, SW-33 is not to be trusted on UHF, according to my personal experience.

The Nagoya 771 is a dual band amateur band antenna...which judging by its length, looks like a 1/4 wave on 2 meters and 5/8 wave on 70 cm ham band.  I personally would not use this antenna for GMRS.  This antenna would need to see some sort of ground plane to radiate properly, in addition to properly loading for lowest reflected power.  As i am a Motorola person, I am not certain about the construction of the Btech radio in regards to the case acting as a proper ground plane.  If it does not have a metal chassis, or metal impregnated case, and is only relying on the SMA connector for a ground plane, I am not so certain that your goal of antenna trimming will ever be achieved reliably.