Midland MXT 115 help

N9DME

I’m new to these little Midland radios I programmed my device to enable usage on a local repeater. The trouble is that I hear the repeater just fine but I can’t make the repeater. My installation includes the Midland MXT115 and a Larsen glass mount antenna for the 470Mhz band. I guess my question is when the radio is programmed, using a “DPL” code does it automatically program both receive and transmit codes?

I’m new to these little Midland radios I programmed my device to enable usage on a local repeater. The trouble is that I hear the repeater just fine but I can’t make the repeater. My installation includes the Midland MXT115 and a Larsen glass mount antenna for the 470Mhz band. I guess my question is when the radio is programmed, using a “DPL” code does it automatically program both receive and transmit codes?

Yes, the Midland radios set both TX and Rx codes at the same time. That is one of the features that makes Midland radios easier to use IMO that some others. In some rare cases this may be limiting.

Once you know the correct code to use, if you do not have immediate success, consider getting close to the repeater (1/2 mile or so) and confirming you can get in there. That will eliminate range as a issue. Once connected, trying driving back towards home to confirm useful range.

Michael

WRHS965

KE8PLM

I specifically asked this question to Midland... this is the response.  I haven't tested it yet. It seams odd that channel 19 would hit both the RX and the TX of this repeater.

Hi,

1. Enable the repeater channels.
  1. Press the menu button.
  2. Press CH UP until “rP” is displayed.
  3. Press the scan button to select.
  4. Press CH UP until “On” is displayed.
  5. Press the scan button to save and exit.
  1. Change to CH 19 RP.
  1. Press CH up until CH 19 RP is displayed.
  1. Add the 100 Hz PL code to CH 19 RP
  1. Press the menu button.
  2. Press CH UP until “Pt” is displayed.
  3. Press the scan button to select.