Reverse Loss Planning & RSL Range

marcknapp

Question

Hi All. First post, here. I'm an RF engineer in the cellular space and have been dipping my toes into some use cases for GMRS for some local relay trail runs as a hobby. I am specifically looking for information on the receiver RSL range for some of the more common H/Ts like the KG-805G or the KG-UV6D. Since any link that has an HT in it will always be reverse link limited, I am surprised by the lack of published information on this.

For cellphones as an example, most are capable of an RSSI range of -30 dBm to -110 dBm depending on the SINR. What I cannot find is: a) general guidance on that for GMRS (or even something close in the HAM bands) or B) any specific information from the Wouxun page on the actual range for the 805G or the UV6D. I need this to determine my coverage levels in my propagation tool, Atoll. I've built the sites in the software and have run the predictions for my locations, but without understanding the minimums and related SNR, I can't set my thematic maps precisely enough for a good idea of where my limits will be. I'm currently set up with -95 dBm as that seems to be fairly reasonable, but my OCD doesn't like assumptions. :)

Thanks for any help!  

4 answers to this question

In the radio world we use db for receive sensitivity. Looking at a cheap radio most dont publish this specification as they probaby dont know. Just a quick search on a bisiness UHF radio from motorola is -122 at 12db sinad. 

https://www.motorolasolutions.com/content/dam/msi/docs/business/products/two-way_radios/portable_radios/small_business_portable_radios/cls1410/_documents/static_files/cls_specsheet.pdf

The UV6D you mentioned is not an approved GMRs radio but its site does list the rx sensitivity as .16 microvolts. I'd have to go grab my service monitor to see what that is in db but guessing the -120 is close.