24V mobile install questions

Hi team,

I'm new to mobile radio but would like to use it for convoy management in remote areas; just spent a month chasing remote beaches in Baja with two other vehicles and it seems to be so helpful for navigating through the poorly mapped backroads. From my understanding, GMRS seems ideal for this without the testing/licensing 'hassle' of ham (so far), especially with mixed vehicles in the convoy who may not be as motivated to study for a ham license. We had some FRS handhelds on this trip, but the range was insufficient for much independent exploration without totally losing each other.

With that use case overview out of the way, complicating matters I have a 24V diesel Land Cruiser that I'd like to install the mobile system in. Most mobile radios still seem to have 13.8V nominal power input, presumably to simplify the design of the analog amplifier sections. Please correct me if I'm wrong on the reasoning here, but I guess it likely doesn't matter. Will I run into trouble if I use a DC/DC switching converter to step down from 24V to 12V? I don't know how noise-free these DC/DC converters are at the frequencies these radios are operating at internally. Do most radios have enough filtering on the inputs to clean this stuff up, or will I have to figure out some sort of external filter?

I have been looking at used Kenwood TK-8180H and Vertex VX-5500 for remote faceplate capability in 40-50W range and I understand Part 95A compliance. Are there any other devices I should be considering? I think I'm comfortable enough with the wiring and programming hassle to prefer a used commercial radio over a Low Part Count SDR, but am open to contrary reasoning. I'd also probably like to get a ~5W handheld to send with a family member into vehicles that have temporarily joined the convoy to enable them to communicate as well. Suggestions for a handheld for this use case are appreciated.