65 cm waves and foliage

Guest 8O1Chicago

Guest 8O1Chicago

Hello all,

Friend moved to Northern Neck area of VA, right on the Potomac.  He told me he doesn't have cellular coverage 5 to 10 miles from his house, I suggested a GMRS base and mobile, along with some HTs for his kids.  Attached are a couple photos of a utility pole mast used for an old analog TV antenna.  Will a decent GMRS antenna be suitable here, mounted on a ten foot mast attached to the top of the utility pole? He estimates it's up about 35 feet to the top.

I am a citizens band operator, there is no issue with an 11 meter antenna in this environment.  Is this going to be a frustrating waste of time for him?  He is looking at a Wouxon 1000G, will a 50 watt radio cut through the leaves and still get out around 10 miles?  He was considering other sites to install a mast, but there are only a few areas on his property that are clear from trees, but those areas get hammered by wind off the river.  

Thanks for any input.

208526007_767093687309304_6250070496227409468_n.jpg

208848894_523093915791495_2412837029435393385_n.jpg

Hello all,
Friend moved to Northern Neck area of VA, right on the Potomac.  He told me he doesn't have cellular coverage 5 to 10 miles from his house, I suggested a GMRS base and mobile, along with some HTs for his kids.  Attached are a couple photos of a utility pole mast used for an old analog TV antenna.  Will a decent GMRS antenna be suitable here, mounted on a ten foot mast attached to the top of the utility pole? He estimates it's up about 35 feet to the top.