FT991A vs IC7100

WRPH745

I am looking to get my first HF rig. I passed my General last Saturday.

Goals

1. SSB on HF

2. Digital modes such as FT8 on HF and VHF/UHF

3. SSB on VHF/UHF

D-Star doesn't matter.

I am looking at either the FT991A or the IC7100.

I realize it is not a straight comparison.

The pluses I see is the 7100 will be better for outdoor activations.

The pluses I see with the FT991A is the waterfall and a built in antenna tuner.

Is there anything I am missing?

Thanks

Really, both are great radios. It is really going to come down to DStar vs c4fm.

I am a tech. I have a ft991a.

The waterfall is nothing to right home about. Enough so I setup a quasi panadapter using a rsp1a and mfj sdr switch. Also did a catswitch because unlike the Icom 7300 the menu is a complete pain at times.

Both can be used for field work. Personally, the ft991a works better in my books because it is all in one box unlike the Icom 7100.

Also I'd didn't have a choice. Wife bought it as a gift and she didn't want to spend 1k on a radio that looke like an alarm clock.

Any reason an all mode versus a dedicated hf radio and dualbanner? If you are into 2m/70 ssb work or satellites a 9700 and 7300 would be awesome minus the $$$

Asking because I found with 2m/70cm ssb work alot of it is the same 10 guys unless you get luck with antenna height (no hoa) or tropo.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

Knowing myself I will buy one radio and most likely never get another HF unless the radio quits working. I am not the type to buy and sell. So I am looking for something that gives me the most options in one radio.

I want to try 2m SSB but I am assuming it is a quiet band so I am willing to get a radio that includes it but not willing not buy a dedicated radio. Plus there is the money factor.

3 minutes ago, WRPH745 said: