Help with Chirp

Ringo

I am new to GMRS and radios in general. I reached out for approval to a local repeater and was given the details, but I am a bit unsure how to translate that to CHIRP.

Here is what I was given:

TX 467.625 DPL XXX / RX 462.625 DPL XXX.

In CHIRP I am programming a DIY channel (frequency 467.625000 with a +5 offset). For the DLP, I am trying to set the DTCS code and the DTCS Rx code, but it only lets me set one. Also, the DTCS poll gets set to NN, is that what I want? Sorry for a newbie question.

https://chirp.danplanet.com/projects/chirp/wiki/MemoryEditorColumns

This page may help clarify, when Tone Mode is DCS (the correct entry for a repeater that uses DPL), the radio will use the same DCS tone for both tx and rx, based on the DCS Tone column. On the DCS Pol column, that refers to Polarity, either Normal or Inverted; if not specified in the listing, it's usually assumed to be normal polarity.

What kind of radio are you programming?  Were you able to first download a copy of everything currently in the radio and save it to your system? I would recommend you then save another copy with the word WORK in it so you know it isn't the original that you might need should you accidentally brick your radio.  The rest of this is my "opinion" and may be contradictory to what you hear/read but if you give it a try it probably will get you on that repeater. <Wink>

After editing you should be able to first save your "WORK" then upload it to the Radio...  In your case you probably will wind up with a line that reads something like this at one of your locations:

Loc # = Self explanatory

Frequency = 462.625000

Name = (Something like) RPT625

Tone Mode = Tone

Tone = the value of the PL code he/she gave you to transmit into the repeater (if you click on the space a nice drop down menu will pop up)

Duplex = +

Offset = 5.000000

Mode = FM (then again it might be WFM depending on what specific radio you are programming - don't use NFM)