Remote Putty Connection to Node

WQUQ715

Question

I'm new to Linux, and need some help.

I can connect to my node using Putty when my laptop is on the same router, but not from a different ISP.

Is there a Raspian setting to allow these connections? Is it a firewall setting?

I'm getting tired of dragging a laptop to my tower site to edit rpt.conf settings.

Oops! I've got to drive back over to the tower, I forgot to uncomment that macro number...

3 answers to this question

1 hour ago, WQUQ715 said:

I can connect to my node using Putty when my laptop is on the same router, but not from a different ISP.

Is there a Raspian setting to allow these connections? Is it a firewall setting?

Just out of curiosity, what IP# are you "using" when making those connection attempts?

Most routers issue LAN-side IP addresses in the 192.168.x.x block (though some may use 10.x.x.x). These are considered pseudo private IP addresses, that do not get propagated out to the WAN ("Internet"). You can, typically, connect from one LAN device to another LAN device as they are both "inside", and don't require routing packets to the Internet itself (though some routers will block WiFi connections from being seen internally, only allowing cabled computers to see each other).

The router normally performs NAT -- it keeps a table of outgoing connections and what it mapped them to on the outside:

LAN IP# / socket # / (TCP/UDP) <====> WAN IP# / socket # / (TCP/UDP)

where the WAN IP# is the number the ISP assigned to the router. This table is used to map incoming reply packets back to the device/application that initiated the connection.