Antenna - Lots of Trees/Old School Roof - Can you offer a suggestion? {Radio Wave Sensitivity Question also)

WRTJ223

Question

I live in a historic area with an old roof (I think its tin) and have lots of huge heritage live oaks. I am new to GMRS and also test for my Ham license soon. What do y'all recommend for an antenna? I am working with our municipality and businesses to develop a repeater infrastructure for our area as we have experienced the freeze (I live in Texas), if we get black outs from the heat (predicted) and live in flash flood alley. Thanks for any help that you can provide. Have a great week! 

PS I am also VERY sensitive to waves. Even got my city to enact a Smart Meter Opt Out Ordinance (it took me five years to accomplish). I hate my BaoFeng (it emits nasty energy) and have ordered some other hand held Han radios and also working on selecting a GMRS radio. I can even feel the waves from the little two way radios my neighborhood is setting up a comms system. So, any thoughts on this would be appreciated. 

I would like to set up a GMRS base station so that is why I am waiting on ordering a hand held for now until figure out the antenna situation. 

5 answers to this question

Dude!  Dear lady! Drop this GMRS habit and stay away from ham license if your health and sanity have any value to you and yours. Hams attract waves just like lightning rods attract garden flies. Take care of yourself and your family! Health is first! Maintain the purity of bodily liquids, for God's sake!

If you are that sensitive to RF energy, you will not have a comfortable time with any transmitters. Do you use a cell-phone or microwave? How about WiFi? Those generate RF too. If you don't react to those, it may be that microwave frequencies are short enough to not be sensed. GMRS (and the 70cm Amateur band) are just below the OLD UHF TV channels (14 up).