Im new, need help w set up!

WRUB458

Hi everyone! I have call sign and license! Situation. I have to stay in contact w family less than 10 miles down road urban area. I cannot use cell phones at work so I bought wouxun kg-905g radios w nagoya 771g and wanting to add home base for added range. Thinking of wouxun kg 1000 or would midland work w it?

Hi there and thanks for responding. I was looking at like the midland mxt500 or so vs the wouxun. I was wondering if the radios I have would work with the midland mxt500 if I wanted that one. I have to check on repeaters as I’m new to this. And, what base antenna would be recommended?

25 minutes ago, WRUB458 said:

Hi there and thanks for responding. I was looking at like the midland mxt500 or so vs the wouxun. I was wondering if the radios I have would work with the midland mxt500 if I wanted that one. I have to check on repeaters as I’m new to this. And, what base antenna would be recommended?

Yes, both the Midland Mxt500 or the Wouxun KG1000 will work just fine with the KG905.  Whether they can communicate over that distance is subject to a lot of different variables, like I mentioned earlier.

Because I have no personal experience with base station antennas I cannot make a recommendation, but there are lots of threads here that discuss base station antennas.

It sounds like you have two or more KG905 radios.  If that’s true, have you tried them talking to each other to see what kind of range you get?