HELP NEEDED

WRPS483

14 minutes ago, WRPS483 said:

I would like to know if there are any groups in the Central Florida area that can help me program my hand held set? I am very new to GMRS. Any ideas?

What make/model? You might find someone on this system that can guide you through the programming software (you aren't trying to do major programming from the front panel, are you?).

For the most part*, GMRS radios are already set with all channels configured for no CTCSS/DCS tones, and since the interstitials (in the current standard nomenclature, these are "1"-"7" (FM, 5W ERP limit), "8"-"14" (NFM, 0.5W ERP limit), are simplex only, the only reason to set a CTCSS/DCS code on those is if your group wants to ensure they are not annoyed by kids using bubble pack FRS radios. GMRS main channels ("15"-"22" FM 50W output [not ERP] limit) simplex may also fall into that group, though you may get repeater traffic as the repeater output is the same frequency. Repeater channels ("23"-"30" or some variant of "Rp15"-"Rp22") most likely will need a CTCSS or DCS tone set to open the repeater, and usually will send the same tone back.

If you have a radio that supports programming additional channels you are still limited to the same 22 frequencies, but can configure multiple repeaters that may share frequency but have different tones for access -- rather than carrying a note card around and front-panel programming to change tones as you want to change repeater.

* there is at least one manufacturer that preloads all channels with essentially random selection of CTCSS or DCS tones; if one doesn't clear out those tones one is practically limited to only contacting another radio from that manufacturer ?

4 hours ago, WRPS483 said:

It's a cheaper radio Tidradio GM-5R..... just wanted to get started with adding repeaters. This is my entry into GMRS. I thank you for your reply and knowledge.