Concept: Dual HT repeater using MURS bridge

WRUR259

Disclaimer:
I want to start off by stating on the record that the concepts I want to put forth are for entertainment and information only. I do not advocate for using any equipment mentioned in the following post(s), nor do I advocate for using said equipment in any mentioned manner. Therefore, if any individual builds such a setup and runs it, I will not be responsible for any repercussions brought to said aforementioned individual in the event the black coats show up to said individual’s residence to seize said equipment or to haul said individual’s ass off to the pokey. 

With that being said, on with the show.

I’m a tinkerer. I have a curse that had always kept me digging deeper once an interest infected me. I was like this with PCs, then Linux, solar, now radios. I love to conceptualize and figure out how to get the most performance out of bare necessities. I’m new to GMRS, thanks to the many entertaining videos posted by Notarubicon (Props dude, I’m a huge fan).

So on with the concept. In the event of SHTF or total disbandment of a certain three letter government agency, wouldn’t it be nice to be able to reach out farther over the air using a relatively high powered repeater that you didn’t have to sink $1000 into? The technology is readily available.

I’m referring to HT’s with cross band repeater capabilities. These little gems are awesome with features that will align them with some mobile rigs. The Leixen UV-25D is fine example of such an HT. It will cross band from UHF to VHF, VHF to UHF, or both ways. The flexibility here is unbelievable, and radios such as these or the TYT UV-8000 series of radios being the foundation of such a repeater would bring features to a repeater that simply don’t exist in even high end setups.