Has anybody ever compared the 15.3-Inch Nagoya NA-771G 15.3-Inch Whip antenna with the 28.3 Inch Length ABBREE SMA-Female Dual Band 144/430Mhz Foldable CS Tactical Antenna?

WRVE426

The Nagoya 15.3-Inch NA-771G is widely considered one of the best antennas for GMRS HTs.   Yet the 28.3 Inch Length ABBREE SMA-Female Dual Band 144/430Mhz Foldable CS Tactical Antenna is much larger.

Has anybody ever directly compared the two antennas?

Is the Nagoya always superior to that ABBREE or does the latter have an edge over the Nagoya in some circumstances and, if yes, which ones?

I only use HTs, by the way (mostly a Wouxun 935G), so I wonder if ever should ever use the ABBREE or is the Nagoya always the best choice?

Thank you!

Thank you Borage, but, maybe that is my ignorance speaking (I am a noob!), this test was about 2m and 70cm, not the near 64cm GMRS frequences.

Also, he was not using the 771G.

So I really don't know, how much of this conclusions (ABREE better unfolded for reception, ABREE better folded for transmission)  apply to the GMRS world?

Finally, am I correct in assuming that simply using the Nagoya 15.3-Inch NA-771G is the best all around option for most situations?

The 70cm is close enough to GMRS frequencies to get a good idea of performance. Many 70cm antennas can be used with out problem on GMRS.

The Nagoya 771g will likely be a good choice. Smiley antenna has a good 465MHz antenna line that is equivalent or better than the Nagoya.

I think the ABBREEs are more of a novelty/“Airsoft” antenna. They work, but I find signal stick, smiley and Nagoya to be better

I have tested with the SWR meter for the Nagoya and the Aubree 18" Inch.

The results are about the same. I just like the Aubree better because I can fold it up, and its more sturdy.

1.03 for the Nagoya and 1.02 for the Aubree

The performance is close enough that its a matter of preference at this point.

This is strictly on GMRS freqs.

20230123_173324.jpg

20230123_173436.jpg