GMRS in South Texas

WRVY822

I am brand new to GMRS. I'm hoping to find some repeaters in my area that will extend my range.

My main goal for getting a license and buying radios is to have a way to communicate with family and close friends locally in an emergency situation as well as listen for information during an emergency.

How is GMRS in South Texas?  

13 hours ago, WRVY822 said:

I am brand new to GMRS. I'm hoping to find some repeaters in my area that will extend my range.

My main goal for getting a license and buying radios is to have a way to communicate with family and close friends locally in an emergency situation as well as listen for information during an emergency.

How is GMRS in South Texas?  

you have close to 150 GMRS Repeaters in the state of Texas.. You can narrow down what is near you using the Query Tools on this web site..  

34 minutes ago, WRUE951 said:

You can narrow down what is near you using the Query Tools on this web site..  

In my experience with large states such as California and Texas, there is no Tool that limits Repeaters geographically, like the Map does (or am I missing something?).

Also I always turn on Show Offline Repeaters and Show Stale Repeater in the circular widget in the upper left corner of the map.

Which radio do you have?

Here’s what I do when I go repeater hunting:

Scan the 8 output chnnels until you hear conversations. 

Make notes which Channels have activity. 

Then listen on the Input frequency for those active frequencies: for example, 467.675 and if you can hear them, you are close to that operator and maybe the repeater. 

21 minutes ago, MichaelLAX said:

Which radio do you have?

Here’s what I do when I go repeater hunting:

Scan the 8 output chnnels until you hear conversations. 

Make notes which Channels have activity. 

Then listen on the Input frequency for those active frequencies: for example, 467.675 and if you can hear them, you are close to that operator and maybe the repeater.