Radio recomendation

Guest keitht

I am just beginning to research GMRS radios. I currently use FRS radios on outdoor outings. I live in a fairly remote area in S.E. Mo where we have high hills / low mountains. We hike and travel on the Ozark rivers. I understand some of the limitations of GMRS radios and hills. I do not know what we have here yet in the way of repeaters. I am hoping that with GCRS radios being more powerful, they could at least punch through the trees here better.

All that said, I am a person who likes to buy once and not have to upgrade later. So I like to get the best system I can afford right off the get-go rather than buy something cheap and have to buy something else later. With that said, does anyone have any suggestions for me on what I should do, or what I should purchase in the way of radios???

I plan to get my GMRS license soon.

Thanks for your time.

3 hours ago, Guest keitht said:

I am just beginning to research GMRS radios. I currently use FRS radios on outdoor outings. I live in a fairly remote area in S.E. Mo where we have high hills / low mountains. We hike and travel on the Ozark rivers. I understand some of the limitations of GMRS radios and hills. I do not know what we have here yet in the way of repeaters. I am hoping that with GCRS radios being more powerful, they could at least punch through the trees here better.

All that said, I am a person who likes to buy once and not have to upgrade later. So I like to get the best system I can afford right off the get-go rather than buy something cheap and have to buy something else later. With that said, does anyone have any suggestions for me on what I should do, or what I should purchase in the way of radios???

I plan to get my GMRS license soon.

Thanks for your time.