SW 2300-26100 kHz radios on emergency radios

WRQH837

Question

8 answers to this question

1 hour ago, WRQH837 said:

Why do a lot of these radios have this specific range?

You may want to find a scanner like a Uniden or Whistler, or even a used Radio Shack scanner that will range into the UHF and higher frequencies. CCrane appears to focus on the lower shortwave frequencies up to VHF. Could be a marketing decision, could be because of the expense or technical challenges. Or both.  Either way, a scanner may be your answer.

It looks like the Wouxun KG-UV9D radio will pick up a lot of these. Here is the range.  Do you think this will be good, or is there a scanner out there you recommend? I'm new to this and don't know much about scanners. Thanks! 

Dual Band Transmission

• 144-148MHz VHF (FM TX)
  • 420-450MHz UHF (FM TX)

7 Band Reception

• 76-108MHz (FM Radio)
  • 108-136MHz (AM RX)
  • 136-180MHz (FM RX)
  • 230-250MHz (FM RX)
  • 350-400MHz (FM RX)
  • 400-512MHz (FM RX)
  • 700-985MHz (FM RX)

I used BCD235XLT for years, till all the law enforcement, fire, EMT, and even city comms in my area went to P25 Phase 2. I gave away this scanner, it was good, but a bit tedious to program: everything must be done from the front panel. It also had a NiMH battery pack, that was easy to replace.

Just a few days ago I found a deal on ebay that I can't pass, for the BCD325P2 scanner, beaten up but working. These P25 scanners are expensive. It also a breeze to program from computer using regular mini-USB cable.

The difference between scanner and regular HT is that scanner is scanning much faster, so less chance to miss communication, and a lot of them, even cheap ones, can also scan trunked systems