Repeater challenges San Fernando Valley

WRYU810

Hey,

I am a super newbie here. I have a question. Maybe a couple of questions. 1. I am trying to reach local repeaters I have tried all of the ones that are open and input the correct tones etc but it seems no one can hear me and I don't hear much traffic if at all. 2. I DO however hear people talking from Arizona with people within 5-10 miles of me but again they are unable to hear me. 

I am in the San Fernando valley, Sherman oaks. Is anyone in this area that might have some insight?

Maybe these aren't even questions... IDK. Any info would be greatly appreciated! 

I have a a couple of Baofeng GM-15 pro's and a Baofeng TP% I play with (Yes I know thats not a gmrs radio, I am just listening on it)

S