GMRS repeaters

pgp1958

14 minutes ago, pgp1958 said:

Hello, I'm new to GMRS and have a question about repeaters.

1. What is DPL, example 043 DPL was shown for a repeater I was looking at.  

2. Are all the GMRS repeater transmit  frequencies  always, +5Mhz from the frequency listed

1. It's a sub-audible tone your radio transmits when you press the PTT button that tells the repeater to activate. Otherwise the repeater would activate every time anyone transmitted on the repeater input frequency even if they weren't trying to use the repeater. It's sort of like the security code on your credit card. Except without the fraud. 

2. Yes.

33 minutes ago, pgp1958 said:

Ok on my radio its under DCS.  I think I'm figuring it out

Next issue is , I saw a post on this site saying permission is need to use repeaters ??

How do I go about getting that permission. ??

One of the menus on the top of the page is called “Repeaters”.  If you go there and find the repeater you’re interested in and select it, there’s a place to click to request permission to use it.

4B7DDC44-F0B4-43CA-AA45-4327A5DA1581.png

31784312-43A9-4E9B-A753-015179E13E1F.png

32D6A333-BFD2-4C3D-B414-CEF098EDF1FB.png

2EFD1211-FFDB-460D-A71B-0B72C0970724.png

Edited by Sshannon
Added screen shots.

2 hours ago, pgp1958 said:

Hello, I'm new to GMRS and have a question about repeaters.

1. What is DPL, example 043 DPL was shown for a repeater I was looking at.  

2. Are all the GMRS repeater transmit  frequencies  always, +5Mhz from the frequency listed

CTCSS is a sub audible tone (it’s really not sub-audible; it’s removed by filtering in the receiver) that causes squelch to open.  It’s also referred to by some as PL, Which stands for Private Line.  Don’t be fooled; there’s nothing private about it.  Anyone with no tones set can hear everything transmitted on that frequency.

DPL is a digital code that serves the same purpose.  It’s also called DCS or DTCSS.  Same warning, expect no privacy.