Why won’t my radio transmit to a repeater?

Widowsson

Question

Total newbie here. I’m sure this same scenario has been solved a thousand times on this forum but I couldn’t find a thread specific to this:

I was able to transmit to and receive from repeater yesterday but I was told my reception was terrible. So I purchased a magnetic mount antenna and installed it on the roof on top of a cookie sheet. I was super excited but upon testing I’m not getting a reply back. My other radio, set on the same repeater channel lights up and beeps only AFTER I speak and release the button on the radio. This is happening regardless of which radio I attempt to transmit with. 

I have the r and t ctcss codes set to 141.3 which is what it was set to yesterday when I actually made a successful transmission, however poorly, it did go through. 

I fumbled with the radio for many embarrassing hours before making the first transmission and had changed quite a few settings. I did a reset on the device so I’m thinking I deleted a needed setting.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

11 answers to this question

What radios are you using?  Are you face programming or computer?   How far away are you?  Have you tried driving closer?   A repeater may have a huge foot print to transmit on but you may be to far away for you to transmit into if you may have something between you and it or you may have local interference(other radios near by, ac units, TVs, neighbors wi fi routers ect…..). 

Hard to tell from that... if you are using the same setup / radio... and the antennae is the only change...  maybe the connection to the antenna is the problem? or the coax, or your radio just can't push enough power through that coax and antennae?  can you talk simplex through the new antenna to any other radio (if you have two of them?

Do you know the distance to the repeater and do you have a line of sight to it ?