Trying to Program a UV-5G Plus via Chirp to get Repeater Access

WSAP738

Question

Hi,

I am new to GMRS and am trying to connect  UV-5G Plus with repeaters in the Tri-state area. I joined a repeater club to access a large repeater in my area, and I am trying to program everything via Chirp. Below is what I have entered: 

• Frequency
  • I set the tone mode to "cross," tone-tone, with the PL tones entered in the "Tone" and "Tone Squelch" columns.
  • +5 offset
  • FM
  • power = high. 

These are three linked repeaters.

I am not getting any sound or contacts back when I transmit.  What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!

Gabe

11 answers to this question

What you've posted is correct for a repeater with a Tx CTCSS tone and a different Rx CTCSS tone. Is that true? Regardless of whether that's true or not, you might want to troubleshoot using just a Tx tone so that you aren't missing responses that might be sent without a tone or with a different tone. To do that you'd use Tone for the tone mode and enter the tone in the Tone column. If that doesn't work you might not be in range or maybe you've got the wrong tone.

I'm about 30 miles from the repeater, so that may be an issue. I did speak to someone, and they gave me the setup steps that I outlined above. Your club sounds great, btw. Too bad I'm on the east coast!

To hear via simplex, do I just enter the frequency?

Thanks,

Gabe

26 minutes ago, DenMRadio said:

What you've posted is correct for a repeater with a Tx CTCSS tone and a different Rx CTCSS tone. Is that true? Regardless of whether that's true or not, you might want to troubleshoot using just a Tx tone so that you aren't missing responses that might be sent without a tone or with a different tone. To do that you'd use Tone for the tone mode and enter the tone in the Tone column. If that doesn't work you might not be in range or maybe you've got the wrong tone.