Hello Everyone

PB92

Thank you Hans and hello.....I have been a CB'er for 30+ years, running custom built high end radios. I'm also a prepper, and the GMRS format works well for that. Huge fan of redundancy, so I have the Midland MXT100 Micro Mobile as a GMRS backup.....along with other electronics in the EMP can.   

• 1 month later...

Hi Matt,

Soo sorry it took so long to get back. Only a few weeks into GMRS. Learning. I really like the GMRS format. I love this MXT400! It's mounted in my P71 Interceptor below my highly custom Cobra 29LX CB on a custom made bracket. I'll take a picture of the setup and try to post it here.

I'm still learning the 400. The speaker on the top of the radio is very clear and loud for its size. The display is nice, and I like the mic with the ability to change channels. There is a small slide button on the side of the mic, and when you slide it up it locks the channel change buttons. Nice feature.  Trying now to learn how to link up the 400 to local repeaters here in CT, see which ones are public or private.

I have been on ch20, there seems to be chatter around here on it. But so far I'm very very happy with it. 73....

So here's what happened today. I get out of work, start the car, turn on the radios (Cobra 29LX and the MXT400).......I hear some chatter on the 400 on channel 20, then this guy comes on, gives his call sign, then his location.

Normal right, but his said "San Diego.....CA???? That's 2,857 miles from my location. Sitting in my car.

I didn't know the range even with repeaters was that far. Now, when I "shoot skip" on my Cobra 29LX, I can hear GA, FL, LA, Indiana, and sometimes I can actually talk to a truck stop in Indiana from East Haven, CT.

Was that guy in CA "shooting skip", or was his transmission jumping through repeaters. Either way I'm impressed. 73.

Welcome to the hobby, sorry for my delayed welcome!.